A Few of My Favorite Things

It’s the last Friday before Christmas and I’m sure EVERYWHERE will be packed with people trying to prepare! Luckily, my husband and I have all our shopping done and our pantry well stocked! Instead of fighting the bad weather we’re supposed to get and the crowds of people, we’ll be home and warm! With Christmas fast approaching, it means that the year is coming to a close. I’ve been trying to think what exactly I should have on not just my December Favorites list, but my 2013 favorite list! BUT Instead of getting of myself JUST yet, here are a few things that make Christmas special to me!

Favorite Sweet: BY far, my favorite Christmas candy is something that my mom has made since I can remember. I never can remember the name of it, never sure if it had an official one for our family. They’re officially called Old-Fashioned Peanut Butter Pinwheels. I was able to find a great recipe for it here. I cannot say int he slightest that they’re even remotely healthy, they just consist of sugar and peanut butter pretty much! BUT they are so good! I am not prejudice to any other traditional sweet though! Red Velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, fudge, rice crispy treats, all delicious!

Favorite Song: “Everybody Knows The Claus” by Hanson. I’ve said it in a previous blog post and I will say it again: Hanson’s Christmas CD is my favorite! In a lot of ways, it’s the only Christmas music I can stand!

Favorite Movie: This is a touch one for me. Scrooged is probably number one, but National Lampoon’s Christmas vacation is right up there with it. It just wouldn’t be the Christmas season though if I didn’t watch Elf, The Santa Claus, and A Christmas Story too! Here are some of my favorite scenes:

Scrooged

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation:

Favorite Memory: Ever since I can remember, my entire family would come over to my parents’ house for Christmas dinner. I’m talking aunts, uncles, cousins, friends of the family, neighbors, everyone! Whether they stopped by for a short time or stayed the whole time, the house was always filled with laughter and love. The last few years in particular have been so fun! Between some sports game in one room, and people playing billiards and Just Dance in the other, it was a good time. I’m not even going to attempt to say I will miss it this year. I hope I can jump on the webcam and catch some of it this year!

Favorite Commercial: I blogged about the Hershey’s kisses commercial being my favorite since I was a kid already. The crazy Target lady was another favorite with this one:

but this year, my favorite is that because it made me laugh so hard the first time I saw it. AND I totally do not think it is appropriate! BUT nevertheless….

Hope everyone has a wonderful and safe weekend!

Leave a comment