Found Photos: Boats & Benches

Welcome to the FIRST post of my found photos series! As I said in the introduction here, I collect photos that I find at antique stores or elsewhere to keep them special. As a lover of all things photography, I hate to think that the memory of a moment that was once thought special enough to capture, goes as something insignificant or forgotten. Now that I have quite a few photos in my collection, I thought I would begin to share them on my blog as a way to keep those moments alive, and maybe bring about thought and discussion on maybe who the people are and what they were doing! ♥

The following photos I purchased at Antique Emporium of Alma (in Kansas). There were a bunch of studio photos there from the early 1900s but this collection of candids caught my eye. I believe they depict a group of eight friends (maybe four couples) having what looks like an enjoyable day.

Based on the slightly edwardion fashion of these women, I would presume these were taken sometime between 1903 and 1907.

Although I’m sure the picture taker of this photo was disappointed that it was blurry, I think it give it character. Makes the story behind it a bit more mystical.

Then the picture taker handed the camera over to the other boat containing their other four friends. Even though their hand was a bit more steady, their eye was not as keen!

Do you think this photo was taken after they did their boat rides? They relaxed after rowing and told stories? OR do you think this photo was the first of the five? Maybe while sitting in this field they came up with the idea of taking boats out onto the water.

Sometimes I get lucky, and someone has written names or events, even places, on the back of the photos I “find.” These ones do not have any story or character names written on them, leaving it up to my imagination!

What do you think of this group and their day of adventure?

Leave a Reply

