Remembering 2005 ♥ blogs of the past

Over the past month I’ve been investigating myself on the internet (I say “investigate” because my user name for things changed as much as my clothes did at the time). I’ve been an internet addict since the days of dial-up AOL. I’ve tried to claim my corner of the internet ever since then. I had an e-mail zine (that’s an AOL thing), I had a “diary” on a similarly named website, I even had a LiveJournal (or three or four). My first “blog” post ever was on November 10th 2001. The first few year’s were rarely accompanied with photos, and if they were, they were hosted on websites that no longer exist. Thanks to Photobucket, I was able to go through pictures from 2004 on.

As much as I have gotten tired of the whole “throwback Thursday” trend, it is Thursday, and I have photos from the past to share. I was doing the whole Instagram thing before it was a thing! These are from 2005 and I was 18 and 19 when these were taken. I cannot believe it’s been SO long ago. I’m still the same girl, but I’ve learned a lot since these were taken.


I went to the snow for the very first time on New Year’s Day in 2005. I was 18.


Selfie! I remember thinking this was so clever.


This may be from 2004. I saw Fall Out Boy then, and again in 2005.


“Don’t you worry IT’S FRIDAY and you’re awesome”
I would bake cookies, cakes, and cupcakes and bring them into work JUST because.


Yes, this was on Myspace.


Tayte and the cone.


My favorite location on campus. This is the film developing room in the photography lab.
I was OBSESSED with that orange hoodie. I only got it in orange because it reminded me
of Clementine from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind


One of my favorite photos taken for that class. My nephew, age 7 (he’s now 16!)


Empty film canisters.


I use to make my own bookmarks. I’m pretty sure I still have this one.


California State Fair ♥


Second favorite place on campus. The Library, 3rd floor.


These people were my best friends. Life can be unnecessarily complicated sometimes.


I got on an airplane for the first time in 2005 too!


I cannot remember what all of these were. But I can spot
Phantom Planet Phantom Planet is Missing,
Modest Mouse Good News for People Who Love Bad News
Head Automatica Decadence
& Spitalfield Remember Right Now
STILL some of my favorite albums ever.


That phone. That iPod. The button that says “I’m no longer with stupid” 🙂


California: where it only rains in the fall & winter.

I know I have been sharing more photo posts than anything, and I apologize. We are in the process of moving and I am a little scatterbrained right now. However, I called this Camera Kristen for a reason! 🙂 Hope you are all having a wonderful week thus far! ❤

Leave a Reply

