Meet My Family ♥ Aunt Carolen & Uncle Al

Back in January I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs and it made my love and appreciation for photography grow even more! Ransom Riggs integrated old photographs that had been found in flea markets, garage sales, etc, into his story to bring their stories back to life (more or less, give them a completely new one). So, I started this “Meet My Family through Old Photographs” series (You can see the collection here), telling my own family’s story and sharing with you old photographs I adore, and with that, the people I love.

Today, I want to share with you photographs of my Aunt Carolen and Uncle Al. I do not know where to begin, to tell you how much they meant to me. I gave both of their eulogy’s, and I can honestly say it was not an easy feat. They lived such incredible lives, did so many things, went so many places, touched the lives of so many people. To me, these two people were MAGIC. I do not know how to sum it up in any other way. They loved each other and everyone around them in such a unique and wonderful way. They were fun loving, adventurous, caring, and jacks of all trades. From baseball teams to traveling around the globe to building a fun business of their own; they did it all, and they did it all together. They are very missed, very loved, and forever hold a special place in many hearts.


Aunt Carolen at 14 months old


Years later, possibly in the same photobooth?


Uncle Al served in the Navy


One of my favorite photos ever simply because on the back, my Uncle Al wrote “Just me & my beard”


They met through Aunt Carolen’s roommate and friend


They got married in 1963


They LOVED to travel & they always brought back the coolest souvenirs for EVERYONE


They loved Halloween, but Christmas was Aunt Carolen’s favorite


Uncle Al had quite the collection of bolo ties


Nothing went unphotographed or not videotaped, they had one or the other (or both) always!


Their backyard was home to many family get togethers, pool parties, and BBQs (all one in the same)


This is how I will always remember them. (That weird faced kid in the middle is me – surprised?)


“Moon River” was their song & it fit perfectly – “Two drifters off to see the world”


Taken at their 40th Wedding Anniversary party

I never really know how to end these posts. I will let you know that they passed in a matter of months of each other. They were lovely people, and I hope more than anything they are together again, laughing and traveling about.

3 thoughts on “Meet My Family ♥ Aunt Carolen & Uncle Al

Leave a Reply

