Meet My Family ♥ Maternal Grandparents

Hello everybody!

Today, as apart of my Meet My Family Series (you can see a collection of the posts so far here), I would like to introduce you to my grandma and grandpa on my mother’s side! The first five years of my life, my grandparents lived in a house on the same property as my parents’ home. When my parents and I moved, my grandparents would watch me after school or on holidays. When my grandfather passed away, my grandma came to live with us. Needless to say, my grandparents were a huge part of my life! They were incredible and very loving people! I truly miss them every single day.


My grandma in December 1919


My grandpa in 1939

My Grandpa was dating one of my Grandma’s friends, and that’s actually how they met. For whatever reason, the three of them went to a movie together, and my grandpa sat in between them. From what I’ve heard, he liked that my grandma did not smoke, and her friend did (amongst other reasons – I’m sure!), so he then began to date my grandma instead!

My grandfather would borrow his boss’s car to take my grandma out on dates. That’s a 1939 Super Charger! I cannot remember the story behind this photo, but I’m almost sure it was taken by a cop. There’s another photo of my grandpa on the cop’s motorcycle. I thought I had it, but I cannot find it on my laptop!

They dated for three years before they got married. My grandpa was 23 and my grandma was 20.

Together they had four children. They had two boys and two girls, the youngest being my mother.


They moved around A LOT! Eventually they stuck to the Northern California area.


My sister & I were lucky because they were always close by when we were growing up.

They still enjoyed traveling a lot! They would often visit Missouri to see my uncle (the oldest of their four children) who lives in Missouri. Those, are his and his aunt’s bikes!

This is one of my absolute favorite photos of them, and how I will always remember them. They were very religious people, and this was actually taken for their church.

This picture was what got me an A+ in my first college photography class. I do not remember taking it, and I’m almost sure I probably took it by accident. My photography teacher LOVED it because it shows her and my grandfather when they were younger as well as the clock. It makes me smile because she has that stuffed animal that is a cow. My grandma always told me of a cow they had named Nelly when my mom was growing up. It also makes me smile because my grandma was always chilly, and had on a sweater and blankets all year round for the most part. It breaks my heart in many ways, though, because I wish more than anything she was smiling or laughing. My grandma, even on the days where she missed my grandpa and her arthritis was bothering her a lot, she was always looking on the bright side.

Myself, my grandma, my mother, and my sister. Three generations in one photo. This was taken almost a year before my grandma passed. She survived my grandpa by 12 years, and she missed him terribly.

It’s been almost four years since she left us, and I still get days where I cannot help but cry because I miss her so much. It’s hard to put to words, for me. She had a way of making you feel so loved, so cared for, and she even made you feel protected even when she was suffering from rheumatoid arthritis and needed to be cared for herself. She had the biggest heart I have ever known. She did not need to know your full story to give you the benefit of the doubt. She did not need to see your face to think you were beautiful. She loved to just sit with you, hear what you had to say, and tell you stories of her own.

As much as I miss them, I am so glad they are together again. That’s where they wanted to be. ♥

5 thoughts on “Meet My Family ♥ Maternal Grandparents

  1. Thank you for sharing Kristen! I don’t feel like I ever got to know her as well. But, I do have very vivid memories of her & grandpa from when I was young & their yellow house 🙂 Miss them too!! Such a kind, godly, inspiring couple. ❤

  2. I’m loving the old photographs, they really help tell a story. This is a really thoughtful post and your grandparents sound like they were such sweet, amazing people! I can imagine it’s definitely hard sometimes when you reminisce. xo

  3. Thank you for sharing. Brought me to tears but filled my heart with joy all the great memories. We were truly blessed with the time we had them in our lives. Learned a lot from the great love they shared . Very inspiring.

  4. Beautiful pictures and biography sis, so true. Thank you. Miss them so much. I remember Grandpa building the little house behind ours. We were so very lucky. To know them was to love them. That cool car picture was taken by a cop, but I forget the whole story too.

Leave a Reply

