Kansas & the Konza Prairie

The Konza Prairie is a beautiful place in the Flint Hills here in Kansas. It sits on the outskirts of our town. It looks COMPLETELY different during every season. I’ve seen it in the very late parts of summer, and now on the verge of spring. It’s starting to get a bit warmer here, even though I feel like it’s a complete tease, since it snowed in the beginning of May last year. Regardless, we’ve been able to venture onto the trails a couple times this year, and last time I brought my camera along. In celebration of spring approaching, here’s the re-awakening of this beautiful prairie. Also, possibly, the re-awakening and healing of myself.

“It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.”
― Rose Kennedy

“The emotion that can break your heart is sometimes the very one that heals it…”
― Nicholas Sparks

“They say time heals all wounds, but that presumes the source of the grief is finite”
― Cassandra Clare

“And I felt like my heart had been so thoroughly and irreparably broken that there could be no real joy again, that at best there might eventually be a little contentment. Everyone wanted me to get help and rejoin life, pick up the pieces and move on, and I tried to, I wanted to, but I just had to lie in the mud with my arms wrapped around myself, eyes closed, grieving, until I didn’t have to anymore.”
― Anne Lamott

“We have to heal our wounded world. The chaos, despair, and senseless destruction we see today are a result of the alienation that people feel from each other and their environment.”
― Michael Jackson

“Scars have the strange power to remind us that our past is real.”
― Cormac McCarthy

“The human heart has a way of making itself large again even after it’s been broken into a million pieces.”
― Robert James Waller

I hope you all are having a great start to your weekend. For more information on the Konza Prairie, you can visit their website here. If you are in the area, I highly recommend a few hours here. You will still have reception the entire time, but it’s kind of fun and therapeutic to not use it. Be a rebel, you know?

I will see you tomorrow. ♥

2 thoughts on “Kansas & the Konza Prairie

Leave a Reply

