Old Photographs ♥ Meet My Family

I have always taken great comfort in photographs. The first five years of my life I lived on a property where my parents house was on the street, and tucked in the back was a house where my grandparents (my mother’s parents) lived. During the day my parents would work and I would spend that time at my grandparents’ home. My grandmother was a LOVER of photographs, cameras, and all things of the sort and I truly believe that carried on to me.

My grandma always told me a story of how I knew her as a baby because of her love of photographs. My grandparents were also big fans of traveling. When I was still a newborn, I had spent a lot of time with my grandparents, but they left for a few months on a trip. When they returned, my grandmother took me from my mother and I cried and cried. She took me back to their home and stood with me in front of her wall of photo frames. She said I looked at her and smiled like I was saying, “Oh! I remember you now.” And so the magic and love of photographs began.


The only semi-decent photo I could find of the picture wall
My grandpa reading to me, June 2nd 1989.

My grandmother had three HUGE photo albums she kept in a chest of drawers in her bedroom. I am pretty sure that practically everyday I was at their home, I spent many hours going through those albums. One was red and one was blue, those two were the kind that had the clear sheet over the sticky pages. One was brown leather with black sheets that you had to paste the photos to the pages; that one was the oldest. They say kids think they remember their childhood because they’re often told stories about it, but they do not actually remember the events. I think that I DO have such strong memories from my childhood because I could look at the photographs of me (and my grandma took A LOT) and reflect on what happened during those times while they were still so fresh in my memory.

I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs and it gave me a whole new appreciation for old photographs. He tells a beautiful and eerie story and works in old photographs that had been FOUND by collectors. It’s incredible, and I’ve already talked about it several times. If you haven’t read it, I highly suggest it.

Since reading that book (and the sequel is next on my list!) I’ve been spending a lot of time going through old photographs again. Since it’s 2014, I have so many of them scanned to my computer. There are many waiting for me in California that I inherited that still need to be scanned in. Anyways, I wanted to do a series type thing where I talk about my family and share some of the photographs that mean so much to me. I hope you, as a reader, do not mind. I’m going to do only a few, I am sure. There are specific people I have some pretty amazing photos of that I cannot wait to share.

Not to make this post long, I’m just going to share a few photographs this time around. The two photographs below are two that almost haunted me as a kid. These two photographs were in the brown leather photograph album with the black pages. The woman in the photographs are my grandma’s Aunt Loise and I wish I knew more about her. I’m not entirely sure if she was on her father’s side or her mother’s. More reason to look into Ancestry.com I suppose! Has anyone ever tried it?!


This has to be one of my all-time favorite photographs in existence ever.

To me, photography and photographs are MAGIC. I think it is a magic that is taken for granted so much anymore because everything is so digitalized. Our phones have cameras, no need for film, #Selfie. Although I rarely use any film anymore, I still make a point to print out photos to frame as well as make a yearly photo album. I think it’s so important to document our lives. It’s important to document the people that matter most to you, the places you get to go and the footprints you leave there, as well as the every day moments that are the small things that will be remembered as the big things. I cherish family photos so very much, I cannot find a word to suit the amount of degree they hold! Photographs are not a way of lingering in the past, they are a way to remember the past, how and where it got you today.

“A photograph never grows old. You and I change, people change all through the months and years, but a photograph always remains the same. How nice to look at a photograph of mother or father taken many years ago. You see them as you remember them. But as people live on, they change completely. That is why I think a photograph can be kind.”
~ Albert Einstein

3 thoughts on “Old Photographs ♥ Meet My Family

  1. I enjoyed your post today. I think it is a good habit of making a yearly photo book and printing out your pictures. I am sure that you do, but to remind everyone else. to please label your pictures. Also make sure that someone is lined up to take care of them after we are gone. I see too many photograph at flea markets and such.

  2. This is a beautiful idea. I have been doing the same thing for years (scanning and looking over old photographs of my family). It is a healthy and fulfilling experience. Don’t make this a small project. Continue to show your old photos, from what I can see, they are extraordinary. Keep it up and remember to do what makes you happy and don’t worry about us watching.

  3. Pingback: Meet My Family ♥ Paternal Grandparents | CameraKristen | Life, Love, Laughter & Beauty

Leave a Reply

