January 2014 Favorites

When I was ringing in the new year, I was so full of joy and hope for this year. A month later, a day away from February, I am still hopeful, but I am heart broken. I had plans for all kinds of maternity clothes, shopping for baby clothes and furniture, and of becoming a mom. Now all which I had purchased is packed away. I thought by packing it away I would not think about it. “Out of sight, out of mind” does not always work.

So, to be honest, I didn’t have much to collect around the house to be apart of my January Favorites. Nevertheless, I like to recap my month, for whatever reason. I took the following picture and laughed because it is quite ridiculous. I was not into looking all that great this month because I did not feel so great, so makeup took to the sidelines this month. BUT there are some items I felt were worth mentioning. So please bare with me!

New York Streets Dry Shampoo: I got this months ago when I was still subscribed to Beauty Army. I never got around to using it until the end of November or the beginning of December, and meant to put it in my favorites both times. This stuff is my favorite dry shampoo by far! It leaves very little white residue, smells great (and by that, I mean hardly has one), and extends my hair style into third or forth day hair easy-peasy! It’s lasted quite awhile too!

TRESemmΓ© Split Remedy Leave-In Conditioning Treatment: I got this as a recommendation from Rachhloves on YouTube. Since moving to Kansas, I have had my hair cut once (and I’ve been here 10 months). I’m too chicken to find a new hair stylist, and possibly get my hair hacked off in the process. ANYWAYS! You apply this stuff to the ends of your hair after washing it and towel drying it. It claims to diminish the appearance of split ends by 80% in the first three uses. I noticed a difference after the FIRST use! I do have to say though, second and third day hair, those split ends are a bit more visible. This stuff is great, and makes me not so ashamed that I’m really stretching it between trims!

Lovestruck (Floral Rush) by Vera Wang: This is my go-to winter perfume. It’s soft, it’s feminine, and it’s just really nice. The top accords are champagne, pink pepper and apricot blossom. Pink passion flower, marigold and white freesia are located in the heart, while the base notes include ambergris, musk and cashmere wood. I didn’t try too hard with makeup this month, but I at least wanted to smell nice.

NYX Butter Gloss in Peach Cobbler: The packaging of this gloss is WAY brighter than the actual color of the gloss itself. It’s a really peachy-pink that’s just a shade darker than any natural color. This gloss is smooth, not sticky, not overly scented, and a really pretty color. It may be more spring-like, but nice enough for a dash of color anytime of the year.

Kindle Fire: I got this the day after it came out. It’s been the best purchase I ever made. It’s outdated now, the newer versions offer all kinds of things. BUT my Kindle is my baby! I have a skin from DecalGirl on it of Vincent Van Gogh’s “Blossoming Almond Tree.” I read most of my books on it, play some apps on it, and read Pulse (a collection of news and blogs all compiled into one awesome little app). I did A LOT of reading this month, so this thing was attached to me!

2014 Weekly/Monthly Planner from Blue Sky: I got this planner sometime in October at Target. For whatever reason, Target clearanced out their Breast Cancer Awareness stuff early and I snagged this for around $2! The sticker of the dog that blends in with the front is from a Keurig machine we purchased ALSO on clearance early this month at Target. I’m a lover of planners, and this one has both a monthly calendar as well as a part where it’s split into days. If you’re interested in BlueSky, there website is here.

Nabisco Chips Ahoy! Original: this is probably a lame thing to add, BUT, I devoured two of these things this month. I make my own cookies always, but this month, shortly after I miscarried, I saw these and got them for nostalgic reasons. I remember going to one of my best friend’s houseboat as kids, and we’d split one. At the time they came wrapped in two plastic tube-shapped things. Nostalgic things can help when you’re sad. They may not help with your waistline, but they helped with my smile!

Like I said, I did a lot of reading this month. I discovered BlogLovin and it has seriously changed the way I read blogs. You list all the blogs you follow onto your feed, whether they’re blogspot, wordpress, etc! It combines them all together in one convenient location where you can still like and comment if you want. You can even follow me there, see (and please do)!


Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This was my favorite read this month for several reasons. This book combines photography with the storyline in SUCH a beautiful way. At the end of the book it explains that all the photos came from personal archives of photo collectors (those who had found them at garage sales, flea markets, etc). Ransom Riggs conceived these images into an interesting story that’s supernatural. I believe it’s young adult (the main character is sixteen), but I liked it just the same! It’s about travel, finding out about yourself in finding out about family history, and peculiar children with extraordinary skills. I will say I was not a fan of the ending. It ends in an obvious lead into another book (which came out this month on the 14th). I’ve heard that this movie is in the works to becoming a movie with Tim Burton as the director! Should be interesting!

I rediscovered Philip Defranco on YouTube! Steven and I used to watch his videos AGES ago. AND I’m back to appreciating his commentary on the new and newsy type things! AND of course my love for Leighannsays and Grace Helbig continued this month!

Lastly, I wanted to make a quick mention of the band Explosions in the Sky as well as City and Colour. BOTH of these are great to listen to if you’re in a mellow mood (or even when you’re not). Explosions in the Sky play all acoustic, indie rock type music. City and Colour is Dallas Green (formally of Alexisonfire), singer-songwriter type music that’s just amazing. They’re both amazing. I don’t even have words for how much I love and appreciate their music. CHECK them out!

For not having a lot of favorites, that turned out to be quite a few. Hope everyone had a great month, and here’s to an even BETTER February! What were your favorites this month? Anything I should check out?! β™₯

5 thoughts on “January 2014 Favorites

  1. Mmm… Chocolate chip cookies! I like to make my own too, but there’s something so nostalgic and tasty about Chips Ahoy. πŸ™‚ I liked MISS PEREGRINE as well. Those photographs gave me the best kind of creeps. My daughter saw a few and totally freaked out! I totally agree with you about the ending, though. Not my favorite. Are you going to read the second book? (Also, young adult books are the *best.* I fully support all adults who read them. :-)) I hope February proves to be a much better month for you, Kristen. ❀

    • We’ll have to swap chocolate chip cookie recipes!
      I definitely plan on reading the second book! I downloaded it onto my kindle as soon as I finished the first one! The book definitely made me want to make a point to look for cool and creepy photos at thrift stores and garage sales!
      ❀

  2. Keeping my fingers crossed that February and the months ahead bring better things for both of us! πŸ™‚

    Also, my homemade chocolate chip cookies are like…the best thing MA has ever seen. But it takes a lot of work, messes up my tiny apartment kitchen, and…well, I’m lazy. Chips Ahoy are by far the best alternative to cookies made from scratch. πŸ˜€

      • πŸ˜€ Well mine is pretty easy…I get it off of the back of the Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip bag. But I guess my “secret” (if you can even call it that, my mom says she thinks that’s why mine come out better than hers) is I just use one bowl and add each ingredient as I go down the list (as opposed to using one small bowl with some ingredients mixed and a larger bowl with the others…like I said, it’s not a secret haha). πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

