The Saturday Seven: Volume One

Yesterday I mentioned that I would like to start a “Weekly Roundup” type post, highly inspired by Loey of The Curvey Diaries. I’ve seen different types of these posts, most commonly the What’s Up Wednesday. It JUST seemed so fun as well as a way for me to reflect, and for whomever cares (and for those of you who don’t, my apologies) to see what I am up to. I’m sure I may change it over time. So here it is! Just to get a feel for it I will add an explanation (just in case) next to each bolded point!

Highlight (of the week):
Alone time has been really beneficial for me this week. It’s been two weeks since I have miscarried and each day has gotten easier to cope with the fact. I get up when Steven does, and that’s way before the sun does, and I stay up. I cuddle with my cat, I watch YouTube, I read, I do things around the house, I blog. This week was very uneventful, really, but I’m feeling so much better. I’m feeling more like me. THAT is highlight enough for me.

Lesson Learned (what was not so great):
This is going to sound pathetic, and it was, in all actuality. We have A LOT of magnets on our fridge. It’s our magnetic passport, if you will. On Wednesday I planned on doing a lot of cleaning, going through things to donate to Goodwill, all kinds of things. INSTEAD I spent probably the good part of two hours reorganizing those magnets on my fridge. In my defense, I took them all off and sanitized the surface of the fridge, before putting the puzzle back together. That was cleaning. Sort of. ALSO, we plan on moving in a few months where we will have a new fridge. It was unnecessary and frustrating. BUT it looks kind of awesome, for a fridge with magnets on it…

Listening To (Current noises I’ve noticed):
This week has been the first time in a long time that I have made it a point to listen to music! I feel like I’m one of those people who needs music in my life. Music makes me feel good and more centered. I was raised in a musical household. By that I mean there was always music on, sometimes singing along, and sometimes singing just for the heck of it! I DO NOT mean I grew up in a house full of instruments, although my dad is a pretty awesome drummer and we did have a set in the house. ANYWAYS! Music has really helped me get connected back to myself this week.

  • Circa Survive station on Pandora. I LOVE Circa Survive and the collection of music that plays on Pandora’s station for them just gets me. It’s rare that I have skipped a single song (unless it was Coheed & Cambria. I have an unexplainable thing against them for reasons even I do not understand).
  • Explosions in the Sky. I cannot believe I am just discovering this band. It’s rock/indie rock that is completely instrumental. I first heard the song “The Only Moment We Were Alone” while listening to the Circa Survive Pandora station and I’ve liked every song of theirs that I have heard since. I HIGHLY recommend that you give them a listen.
  • Throwback ROCK. By throwback, I mean, what I listened to in high school and the early college years (but still listen to now). Story of the Year, Taking Back Sunday, The Used, Something Corporate, The Killers, Motion City Soundtrack, Dashboard Confessional… I was not scene but I did enjoy their music.
Reading (books, magazines, news articles, etc):

  • My oldest nephew’s birthday is tomorrow, and as a part of his present, I got him Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I had heard so many good things about it, it is on the New York Times Best Seller list. I started reading the copy I had purchased MONTHS ago the same night, mainly to make sure it was something he would like. I hope he does, because I was instantly drawn in, reading it as fast as I could. I’m nowhere near finished, but I’m already so intrigued! I do think I should STOP reading it before bed though.
  • I finished a book about miscarriage that was only somewhat helpful and slightly annoying one night and needed something short to read that would get my mind off of it. Speaking of things that probably should not be read before bed, I read The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman for the first time. I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in English and never was assigned this in the process, but had heard of it. It was written in 1892 and some of the language gives it away to that. It starts of somewhat mediocre, and has a very creepy tone practically in its entirety. If you like complex classic literature, this one will get you going!
That Happy Feeling (What has INSPIRED me this week):


From Pinterest


From Pinterest


From Pinterest

& Sundry (By definition, Sundry means “various items not important enough to be mentioned individually” – so this is the WHAT ELSE I have been up to part):
Last weekend Steven and I stayed home mostly, just spending time with each other and laying low. I had my blood drawn to Tuesday to test my HCG (the pregnancy hormone) levels to see if I’m officially and medically no longer pregnant – BUT I still have yet to find out my results. Steven and I COMPLETELY binge watched Breaking Bad and we’re already on season 4 (I think we started it barely two weeks ago). Thanks to Aaron Paul’s character Jesse, my husband and I often end most sentences with a comical “BITCH!”

The Plan (for next week):
Starting today, and into next week I’m excited to try a few new crock pot recipes! Today I’m making Italian Squash and vegetable soup, and into the week I will be making Spinach and Lentil Tortellini Soup! If they turn out okay, I may even share them! It’s going to be cold this next week (like every week since October, really) so soup will be perfect! This past week I’ve been trying to collect things that I no longer use or need around the house, and I hope to have it all collected to donate next week! ALSO in the terms of blogging, I will try a new set of themes! (THANK YOU to everyone who put in their input! SO Greatly appreciated!)
2 thoughts on “The Saturday Seven: Volume One

  1. What miscarriage book did you read? I have yet to pick one up. My therapist suggested I write a goodbye letter to the baby, to help the healing and closure process. I scribbled one out last night in haste, after my angry blog. I figured I was already crying and feeling a world of emotion, so what better time than to just really immerse myself in it. It was cathartic to a point. Also, I got my period today (TMI? Sorry. :/ ) Reminded me of the cycle of life and how everything moves forward, whether we want it to or not. Maybe once this cycle finishes I will start feeling back to normal. (Will there ever be a normal again?)

    I have also read The Yellow Wallpaper, and it struck me so much that I kept the book. I haven’t read it since college, but it was a powerful piece, and definitely had that creepy vibe you mentioned.

    Lastly, kudos on the self care. I’m trying to continue my process of healing with yoga, writing, music (I love music too) and alone time. Someone recently told me that this time is about me, and no one else, and I need to not feel guilty when I put myself first and others second (namely, the friends who keep wanting to hang out and feel bummed when I decline.)

    -Britt

    PS: Loving the magnets! 🙂

    • I read I Never Held You: Miscarriage, Grief, Healing and Recovery by Ellen M. DuBois. It was somewhat helpful, but I also do not really recommend it either. That may be weird but… I think the only parts that seemed helpful to me were reading the different women’s experiences and knowing that I was not alone in mine. ALL of which you can probably find on some miscarriage board somewhere online. Or on blogs! 🙂

      I want to write a goodbye letter. That seems like an excellent idea! I wouldn’t say it will make you feel any normal or better about it, but in a way it’s closure? I honestly don’t think there will be a normal like normal used to be for us. We went through a different kind of pain that’s very personal – but a lot of people can relate to (and even more people who do not understand).

      AND I completely agree – you should not feel bad for wanting to take care of yourself right now! We just have to make time to center ourselves. You have to heal for yourself and be happy again for yourself before you can be happy around others – at least that’s my two cents about it.

      ❤

Leave a Reply

