The YEAR 2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR! I’m a firm believer that if you want to change, you do not need a special day, or a new year to make that happen. What you do and when you do it is entirely up to you. HOWEVER, I am a sucker for the new year feeling! I do not do New Year’s resolutions, per say. I try to set realistic goals for myself that I know that I can achieve sometime throughout the year. MAYBE that could be considered lazy, but I feel like it’s better than setting myself up to do too much too soon and end up giving up like a lot of people do (92% to be exact).

I read somewhere that it is good to set a theme for your resolutions or goals. The best way to encourage yourself to keep going toward this goal is to think of one word that encompasses what you would like to achieve. That way, each day you can think of that ONE word, and it will remind you to keep at it. My word for 2014 is going to be GROW. I want to grow as a person (not height wise. I’m plenty tall, thank you), learn more, be better, be more ME. I want to get a better idea of who I am and what I want from life. I want to be better at what it is in life that truly makes me happy. I want to grow as an individual, a wife, and whatever life throws my way.

I found an image on pinterest (here) with these goals listed on it. In a way, this is what I mean by “Grow.”

A bad habit I’m Going to Break: STOP biting my nails! As long as I have them painted, I’m fine. BUT when that polish is off… it is bad news!

A New Skill I’d like to Learn: NEW is not really the word. BUT I would like to get better at cooking and maybe even get to the point to where I enjoy it.

A person I hope to be more like: ME! Sometimes I think I lose sight of who I am in order to make others happy. I want to keep myself more focused on doing things I want for myself and my little family.

A good deed I’m going to do: This one is tough because I’m always trying to be helpful to others. I will donate more of my time, efforts, and things to those who need it.

A place I’d like to visit: HOME! Steven and I have not been home since we moved to Kansas. It has only been nine months BUT I do miss California and the people I love that live there!

A book I’d like to read: There are so many! I would like to finish Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (a book so many people read in high school, but I never got the chance!), Inferno by Dan Brown, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon… to name a few!

A letter I’m going to write: I think I may begin writing to my future child. Let them know how much I want them, and hope that one day I will get to meet them. (Cheesy? That’s okay with me.)

A food I’d like to try: I AM usually willing to try anything, at least once! I already feel like my husband and I eat and enjoy all kinds of food! Chinese, Vietnamese, Mexican, Japanese, Korean, Italian, etc. we love most foods! I’ve always been kind of afraid of Indian food. I love samosas though! BUT I think it’s my dislike of curry that veers me away from trying most other things. SO let’s say Indian food! Now to find a decent place in Kansas….

I’m going to be better at: THIS is a list! I want to be better at: taking photos with a camera (versus my phone), reading, cooking, playing with my cat, being patient with others, drinking more water, writing (blog and otherwise), and going on date nights with my husband more often.

So here goes nothing! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The YEAR 2014

  1. Loved these ideas! And about being realistic in our goals ; ) That’s something I tell people to aim for too.

    Not sure how you found my blog, but I’ll enjoy reading more of yours!
    Sue @ The Unfinished Child

  2. Love that you did this list. 😀 I’m a sucker for the new year too. I just love the feeling of a fresh start… gives me butterflies!
    Btw, I just started this new blog and realized as I came over here to subscribe to you that we have the same layout. #oops #wordpressneedsmorethemes
    xoxo Loey

Leave a Reply

